Sustainability Action Plan

Sustainability Action Plan

Created by citizen working groups and then adopted by City Council in 2011, the Sustainability Action Plan encompasses nine areas of sustainability. The plan's purpose is to "Improve the quality of life for Elgin citizens to improve its local environment, while making Elgin a more viable and vibrant place to live."

 Each area (or recommendation category) of the Sustainability Action Plan provides a number of goals, and each goal has specific, actionable objectives. A total of 108 objectives are included in the plan. Of those objectives nearly a third are education-focused. Other objectives are related things such as policy recommendations, ordinance adoption and incentive programs.

Explore the plan by reading the full document (5 MB download), by recommendation category, or section by section below.

Staff provided a progress report to City Council in 2017, estimating nearly 75% of objectives complete or on-going.

Please direct any questions or comments to Sustainability Coordinator, by emailing Molly Center or calling 847-931-5613.

Alternative Energy


Economic Development


Green Building Technologies


Green Infrastructure


Healthy Living and Community Education


Recycling and Waste Management


Transportation and Mobility


Urban Design


Water Resources


Sustainability Commission

The Elgin Sustainability Commission was created to oversee implementation of the Sustainability Action Plan. In addition, it is the commission’s duty to hear presentations from businesses, advocacy groups and other associations regarding opportunities for the City of Elgin. The commission meets monthly and consists of 9 members (6 from the community-at large and 3 city staff). Click here to learn more about the Sustainability Commission.

Sustainability Honor Roll

 The Sustainabilty Honor Roll recognizes individuals, businesses, organizations and educational programs for their efforts in helping Elgin become a sustainable community. The award is given out biannually, typically in April and October.

Nominations are welcomed by the public and may be submitted at any time of the year at Nominees not awarded in one round remain in the running for future rounds of the award.

Recipients of the Sustainabilty Honor Roll:

  • Deb Perryman, Elgin High School environmental science teacher
  • Carl Missele, active community member
  • Multifilm Packaging, local business
  • Friends of the Fox River, local non-profit organization
  • Advocate Sherman Hospital, local business
  • Maura Neuffer, naturalist and environmental educator
  • Elgin Fire Station 7, City of Elgin department unit

Need volunteers to help?

There are many groups throughout the community ready and willing to lend a hand.